TEXAS ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL



<u>News Release</u> Texas Economic Development Council

For more information contact: Mr. Carlton Schwab President/CEO Texas Economic Development Council (512) 480-8432 carlton@texasedc.org

For Immediate Release February 23rd, 2021

TEDC Presents the 2020 Economic Excellence Recognition at 2021 Legislative Conference

The Texas Economic Development Council (TEDC) announced the recipients of its annual Economic Excellence Recognition program for 2020. The awards were presented on Tuesday, February 23rd, during the TEDC's 2021 Legislative Conference hosted virtually, February 22-26, 2021.

The Economic Excellence Recognition program provides recognition to economic development organizations that meet a desired threshold of professionalism. Recipients qualify for recognition based on training taken by their governing board/council as well as the economic development director and professional staff. Certifications, professional memberships and activities, and organizational effectiveness of the economic development staff also contribute to the standards for qualification.

These fifty-one (51) economic development organizations received the TEDC's 2020 Economic Excellence Recognition:

City of Anna Economic Development Corporation City of Balch Springs Economic Development Corporation Bastrop Economic Development Corporation Boerne/Kendall County Economic Development Corporation Brazos Valley Economic Development Corporation Brenham-Washington County Economic Development Corporation Brookshire Economic Development Corporation Buda Economic Development Corporation Canton Economic Development Corporation Cedar Hill Economic Development Corporation Cedar Park Economic Development Corporation Conroe Economic Development Council Corpus Christi Regional Economic Development Corporation Cuero Economic Development Corporation Dayton Community Development Corporation Decatur Economic Development Corporation

Del Rio Economic Development Corporation City of Denton Development Corporation of Abilene Gun Barrel City Economic Development Corporation Harlingen Economic Development Corporation City of Hondo Ingleside Economic Development Corporation Jacksboro Economic Development Corporation Katy Area Economic Development Council Kilgore Economic Development Corporation La Marque Economic Development Corporation City of Lancaster Lavon Economic Development Corporation City of League City Economic Development Corporation Lindale Economic Development Corporation Little Elm Economic Development Corporation Lockhart Economic Development Corporation Marble Falls Economic Development Corporation City of Mesquite Mexia Economic Development Corporation New Braunfels EDC City of North Richland Hills Economic Development Corporation Palestine Economic Development Corporation Pasadena Economic Development Corporation Pflugerville Community Development Corporation Sanger Economic Development Corporation Sherman Economic Development Corporation City of Southlake Sugar Land Type A Corporation Sugar Land Type B Corporation Sulphur Springs Economic Development Corporation Terrell Economic Development Corporation The Colony Economic Development Corporation City of Waxahachie

Wylie Economic Development Corporation

"The TEDC's Economic Excellence Recognition program is one of the ways in which our organization honors the outstanding commitment to excellence of our communities and regions, their leaders, and their economic development professionals have toward the professionalization of their economic development efforts," noted Carlton Schwab, President/CEO of the TEDC."

The Texas Economic Development Council, established in 1961, is an Austin-based, statewide, non-profit professional association, dedicated to the development of economic and employment opportunities in Texas. The TEDC provides information, educational and legislative services to more than 850 members. Our objective is to support the economic growth of Texas and develop strategies that promote a positive business climate in the state.